top of page
Search

Know Your Doula




About me

Hello! I’m Doula Monique, I’m a mom of three, a homeschooler, and a birth keeper.


My history in birth work

I became aware of doulas and childbirth education in our first pregnancy. We took a class and it really changed our idea of birth. I grew up thinking of the birthing process as something scary, painful, and risky. But getting educated with the information that we learned from the class made me and my husband at ease with the journey. I realized that it is not just mine, but ours as a new family. Because of that realization I wanted to share this with other birthers and families too.


I've wanted to become a doula since 2017, drawing inspiration from Doula Betty of @birthingisablessing (who was also my doula at that time), but because I had a newborn, I felt that it wasn’t the right moment for me to become a doula yet. Fast forward to a few years later with another baby and a pandemic, the dream of becoming a doula came across my mind again. My doula sisters Ria of @graciousbirth and @doula.aren of Kaligtasan Parental Support told me and encouraged me to apply to the Bebo Mia Scholarship Program, and I’m so grateful to receive the Philanthropy Scholarship!




Doula studies

Here I am now, 4 months into the program, doing what I love, encouraging and supporting women, and creating a safe space for them and their families - I am so thrilled to be here and I’m at my happiest, all thanks to the very very generous Bebo Mia Inc. team. It is such a great opportunity and I am really recommending this program to all those who want to be birth workers out there! Their scholarship application is still open so head over to their website on their giving back page!


Let’s all encourage and support more positive, humanized, and gentle births!




5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Komentarze


bottom of page